Official site of British F3 International Series.
Official site of British F3 International Series.
Next Race: >>
Donington 12/10/2008 - 06 Days, 05 Hrs, 38 Mins
British F3 to ‘The Max’ at Donington


A maximum grid of 32 cars will be seen at Donington Park in Leicestershire this weekend for Rounds 3 & 4 of the 2007 Lloyds TSB Insurance British F3 International Series.

British F3 is the traditional training ground for the Formula One stars of the future and the 32 drivers from across the world will travel to Donington to see who will triumph on the historic circuit that dates back to the 1930’s.

Estonian Marko Asmer currently leads the championship after the opening races two weeks ago, holding a seven point lead over race winner Maro Engel from Germany and Britain’s Stephen Jelley.  Jelley is from Leicester and is hoping to take the win that eluded him at Oulton Park on his home track.

“It seems to be going OK,” said Marko Asmer.  “We were quite quick today in testing so we should be able to try to put it on pole for both races in qualifying on Saturday, which will make it a bit easier to win it from the front row.  The win at Oulton Park meant a lot to me and to the team.”

“Oulton Park was fantastic to get the season off to a good start with a win, so we come here with the first win in the bag,” Said Maro Engel.  “The second race didn’t quite go to plan but I feel we had a strong weekend at Oulton and hopefully it will be the same here this weekend.”

“I’m really looking forward to this weekend,” said Jelley.  “We were second in testing today and we have a really quick car for the races on Sunday.  We have a bit of time to find but that keeps us on our toes and we can go into the weekend looking for that win.”

Two new cars join the grid this weekend.  Max Chilton will celebrate his 16th birthday on Saturday and will receive his International C race licence which will enable him to compete in British F3.  At 16 years and 1 day Max will become the youngest driver ever to start a British F3 race.  The other new entry is the Championship Class Fluid Motorsport Lola of South African Cristiano Morgado.  Morgado finished second in the National Class last season and is looking forward to the race weekend at Donington having missed the opening rounds two weeks ago.

In the National Class Cong Fu ‘Frankie’ Cheng took maximum points at Oulton Park but the Chinese racer will face stiff opposition from the other ten competitors, led by Iceland’s Viktor Jensen, in the class at Donington Park.  Jensen took two podium finishes on his British F3 debut and will be looking to step one place up to the top step this weekend.

No. Driver Nat. Team/Entrant Chassis/Engine

1 Stephen Jelley GBR Räikkönen Robertson Racing Dallara F307 Mercedes HWA

2 Jonathan Kennard GBR Räikkönen Robertson Racing Dallara F307 Mercedes HWA

3 Sam Bird GBR Carlin Motorsport Dallara F307 Mercedes HWA

4 Mario Moraes BRA Carlin Motorsport Dallara F307 Mercedes HWA

5 Sebastian Hohenthal SWE Fortec Motorsport Dallara F307 Mercedes HWA

6 Walter Grubmüller AUT Hitech Racing Dallara F307 Mercedes HWA

7 Marko Asmer EST Hitech Racing Dallara F307 Mercedes HWA

8 Francesco Castellacci ITA Alan Docking Racing Dallara F307 Mugen-Honda

9 Rodolfo Gonzalez VEN T-Sport  Dallara F307 Mugen-Honda

10 Ricardo Teixeira ANG Performance Racing Europe Dallara F307 Mugen-Honda

12 Cristiano Morgado RSA Fluid Motorsport Development Lola B06-30 Mugen-Honda

14 Esteban Guerrieri ARG Ultimate Motorsport Mygale Mercedes HWA

15 Michael Devaney IRL Ultimate Motorsport Mygale Mercedes HWA

21 Niall Breen GBR Carlin Motorsport Dallara F307 Mercedes HWA

22 Alberto Valerio BRA Carlin Motorsport Dallara F307 Mercedes HWA

23 Maro Engel GER Carlin Motorsport Dallara F307 Mercedes HWA

24 John Martin AUS Alan Docking Racing Dallara F307 Mugen-Honda

26 Atte Mustonen FIN Räikkönen Robertson Racing Dallara F307 Mercedes HWA

44 Leo Mansell GBR Fortec Motorsport Dallara F307 Mercedes HWA

50 Greg Mansell GBR Fortec Motorsport Dallara F307 Mercedes HWA

National Class     

31 Sergio Perez MEX T-Sport  Dallara F304 Mugen-Honda

32 Sean Petterson RSA Fluid Motorsport Development Lola-Dome F106/4 Mugen-Honda

33 Juan Pablo Garcia Samano MEX Fluid Motorsport Development Lola-Dome F106/4 Mugen-Honda

34 Alex Waters GBR Promatecme F3 Dallara F304 Mugen-Honda

35 Alistair Jackson  GBR Räikkönen Robertson Racing Dallara F304 Mugen-Honda

36 Albert Costa ESP Räikkönen Robertson Racing Dallara F304 Mugen-Honda

37 Viktor Jensen ISL Alan Docking Racing Dallara F304 Mugen-Honda

38 Hamad Al Fardan BHR Performance Racing Europe Dallara F304 Mugen-Honda

39 Cheng Cong Fu CHI Performance Racing Europe Dallara F304 Mugen-Honda

55 Michael Meadows GBR Master Motorsport Dallara F304 Mugen-Honda

77 Salman Al Khalifa BAH Promatecme F3 Dallara F304 Mugen-Honda

Invitation Class     

61 Max Chilton GBR Arena International Motorsport Dallara F307 Mercedes HWA

<< Back to main news
Official website of the British F3 International Series
All material © SRO Ltd.
Site design Red Sky